Lot Célé Causse

65km
2 days cycling
3 nights in hotels

This two-day self-guided cycling itinerary takes you through the Lot and Célé Valleys with the highlight being the famous village of Saint Cirq Lapopie, voted ‘the village the French preferred most’ in 2012 and labelled as ‘one of the most beautiful villages of France’. The trip continues into the picturesque Célé Valley before ascending onto the limestone plateau of the ‘causses du Quercy’ before descending back into the Lot Valley and to the charming town of Cajarc.  Follow the Lot River with stunning views back to the start of your journey.

 

Equipped with a quality-touring bicycle, follow the itinerary with the aid of a GPS map and detailed roadmap. Your baggage will be transported by vehicle from hotel to hotel.

 

Fantastic views, authentic villages, fabulous local food and wines, and memorable days in the saddle. Enjoy !!

 

Day 1  Arrival                                                                Hotel Les Gabarres, Tour de Faure     Make your way to the Hotel Les Gabarres in the village of Tour de Faure. (We can organise a transfer by taxi from either Toulouse Airport or Cahors train station if required).

The hotel Les Gabarres is located in the Lot Valley very near the famous village of Saint Cirq Lapopie, a medieval village set on a cliff-face overlooking the Lot River and offering exceptional views. Your hotel has comfortable rooms and a swimming pool. Your bicycle, equipment and detailed itinerary will be given to you before your evening meal in the Auberge des Versane, located near your hotel.

 

Day 2  Tour de Faure – Cajarc (45km)                                                       Blue Hotel, Cajarc

Your first day of cycling takes you from Tour de Faure to the town of Cajarc. You start by cycling along the banks of the Lot River following an old track for towing boats upriver. This impressive track is in part cut into the cliff-face. After the village of Bouzies, go up the beautiful Célé Valley, famed as being the most attractive part of the Santiago de Compostela Pilgrimage route. The first village is Cabrerets where you may wish to visit the wonderful Grotte de Pech-Merle, a cave with prehistoric art famous for its paintings of horses and hands. Continue up the Célé Valley until you reach the pretty town of Marcilhac-sur-Célé. A visit of the old town and its abbey is recommended before a stunning cycle out of the Célé Valley, over the ‘causse’ (limestone plateau), and down into the Lot Valley. The Blue Hotel in Cajarc is your base for the night. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the swimming pool before a fine evening meal.

 

Day 3  Cajarc – Tour de Faure (20km)                                   Hôtel Les Gabarres, Tour de Faure

Your last day in the saddle takes you along a very scenic route overlooking the Lot River and back to the Hotel Les Gabarres. The Château de Cénevières deserves a small detour to visit its rich history and admire the views and its alchemy room. For those wanting a last challenge, take the detour via the plateau and through several villages before descending straight to your hotel. Spend time visiting the village of Saint Cirq Lapopie, one of the jewels of the Lot, before an evening meal in the heart of Saint Cirq Lapopie.

 

Day 4 Depart                                                                                                                        Depart after breakfast. A transfer by taxi to Toulouse Airport or Cahors train station can be arranged.

 

 

Itinerary: The ‘Lot Célé Weekender’ itinerary is 65 km in length. The GPS itinerary can be downloaded onto your own smartphone or GPS. A detailed roadmap is also supplied.

 

Accommodation: All accommodation is based on ** or *** hotels which have their own private swimming pools. Please note that the hotels mentioned in the itinerary are subject to availability. It may occur that another hotel of the same standard be used.

 

Meals: All breakfasts and dinners are included. No lunches are included. We suggest that you buy a picnic lunch and enjoy it en-route. Some hotels offer packed lunches. You will also find small shops or restaurants along the way.

 

Luggage: All luggage will be transferred by vehicle and will be picked up after your departure from the hotel. It will be brought to your next hotel before your arrival.

 

Bicycles: Dedicated bicycles for cycling holidays are used. The bicycles are equipped with panniers for small personnel items, a water bottle, helmet, puncture repair kit, lock, and a detailed road map.

 

Cost SPECIAL OFFER 2020: (per person sharing)

€467 (April to 17 October)

 

Single supplement:

€180

 

Subject to availability, you may prefer to use an electric bicycle. This will be an additional €150 per person.

 

The above costs include:

  • All breakfasts from Day 2 to Day 4.

  • All dinners from Day 1 to Day 3.

  • Accommodation.

  • Accommodation tax.

  • Use of a bicycle with panniers for small personnel items, water bottle, helmet, puncture repair kit, detailed route map, lock.

  • Baggage transfers from hotel to hotel.

  • Technical assistance 24/7.

 

 

The above does not include:

  • All lunches.

  • Drinks and personal expenses.

  • All visits.

  • Insurance.

  • Transport between your home and the first hotel and back again.

©2020 by Lot Explore. Created with Wix.com

Lot Célé Causse

65km
2 jours à vélo
3 nuits en hôtel

Au cours de cet itinéraire de 65 km en deux jours de vélo, vous découvrirez les vallées du Lot et du Célé ainsi que la merveille du Lot, le fameux village de Saint Cirq Lapopie. Située dans le parc naturel régional des causses du Quercy, le séjour débute dans la vallée du Lot, à Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, élu village préféré des français en 2012 et labélisé Les plus beaux villages de France. L’itinéraire s’enfonce ensuite dans la pittoresque vallée du Célé, avant de traverser les grandes étendues des causses du Quercy pour vous conduire jusqu’à Cajarc, village important au bord du Lot. Votre séjour se termine en longeant les falaise surplombant le Lot jusqu'à votre retour à Saint Cirq Lapopie.

 

Equipé d’un vélo tout confort, vous suivrez le circuit à votre rythme en téléchargeant la trace GPX sur votre GPS ou autre application smartphone. Une carte IGN détaillée sera mise à votre disposition. Vos bagages seront transportés chaque jour jusqu’à l’hôtel de destination.

 

Des paysages grandioses, des villages authentiques, le plaisir de la gastronomie lotoise et de belles journées à vélo sont au programme !

Jour 1 - Arrivée                                                                      Hôtel Les Gabarres, Tour-de-Faure

Rendez-vous à l’hôtel Les Gabarres dans le village de Tour-de-Faure. Pour vous y rendre, un taxi peut être mis à disposition sur demande préalable. L’hôtel Les Gabarres se trouve dans la vallée du Lot, face à Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, village médiéval installé sur un rocher surplombant le Lot et offrant un point de vue exceptionnel. L’hôtel propose des chambres confortables ainsi qu’une piscine.

Votre vélo, ainsi que vos itinéraire et carte détaillée vous seront remis sur place.

Le diner sera servi à L’Auberge des Versanes, située à 400 mètres de l’hôtel.

Jour 2 - Tour de Faure - Cajarc (45km)                                         Blue Hôtel, Cajarc

Votre premier jour en vélo sera de Tour de Faure à la petite ville de Cajarc. Vous commencé par suivre la rivière Lot par le fabuleux chemin de halage, en partie creusé dans la roche. Au village de Bouzies, rejoigniez la vallée du Célé. Cette merveilleuse vallée est réputée comme étant la plus belle variante du Saint Jacques de Compostelle. Au premier village, Cabreret, vous pouvez visiter la très belle Grotte de Peche Merle, connue pour son art préhistorique. Continuer la vallée du Célé jusqu'à Marchillac sur Célé, village pittoresque avec une belle abbaye surplombé par des falaises. Quitté la vallée du Célé en traversant le causse par des petite routes de compagne et retomber dans la vallée du Lot. Une fois à Cajarc, vous trouverez le Blue Hôtel en bordure du Lot. Village typiquement Lotoise, Cajarc a su préservé son charme et rusticité. Découvrez le vieux centre ainsi que les traces de Pompidou, Françoise Sagan et bien sûr Coluche qui résidé au village dans le temps passé. Diner au Blue Hôtel.

Jour 3 - Cajarc - Tour de Faure (20km)                                        Hôtel Les Gabarres, Tour de Faure

Après un bon petit déjeuner, suivez la vallée du Lot et appréciez les vues sublimes au long de la route. Le très intéressant Château de Cenevières mérite un petit détour, et si vous souhaitez rallonger le circuit, continuer jusqu’au village de Limogne en Quercy et Lugagnac avant de descendre sur Tour de Faure et votre hôtel en bordure du Lot. Pour mieux apprécier la beauté du village de Saint Cirq Lapopie, vous dinerai au restaurant Le Cantou.

Jour 4 Départ                                                                                                                       

Départ après votre petit déjeuner.

Circuit : Le circuit <Lot Célé Causse> fait 65 km. L’itinéraire sera mis à disposition sur une application GPS. Vous devrez vous munir d’un smartphone. Une carte IGN détaillée sera également mise à votre disposition.

 

Hébergements : Tous les hébergements seront ** ou *** et offrent une piscine privée. Les hôtels mentionnés dans l’itinéraire ci-dessus sont proposés sous réserve de disponibilité.

 

Repas : Les petits déjeuners sont inclus du jour 2 au jour 4. Les diners sont inclus du jour 1 au jour 3. Les déjeuners du midi ne sont pas inclus. Nous suggérons que vous achetiez un pique-nique en route. Certain hôtels proposent des pique-niques à emporter. 

 

Bagages : Tous les bagages seront acheminés d’hôtel à hôtel par véhicule. Votre vélo sera équipé de petites sacoches afin d’emporter le nécessaire pour la journée.

 

Vélos : Les vélos mis à disposition sont équipés de sacoches, d’une gourde, d’un casque, d’une trousse de réparation en cas de crevaison, et d’un antivol pour le vélo.

 

 

Tarif public - PROMO 2020 :

Par personne basé chambre double :

467 € : avril – septembre.

Supplément personne seule: 180 €

Supplément pour vélo électrique (selon disponibilité) : 150 €

 

Le tarif ci-dessus inclus:

  • Les petits déjeuners du Jour 2 au Jour 4.

  • Les diners du Jour 1 au Jour 3.

  • Hébergement.

  • Taxes de séjours.

  • Un vélo équipé de sacoche, bouteille a eau, casque, trousse de réparation en cas de crevaison, antivol, une carte IGN et l’itinéraire GPX sur votre smartphone.

  • Transfer des bagages d’hôtel à hôtel.

  • Assistance technique 7j/7.

 

Le tarif ci-dessus n’inclus pas:

  • Les déjeuner de midi.

  • Les visites payantes.

  • Les boissons et dépense personnelle.

  • Assurance

  • Le transport entre chez vous et le premier hôtel et entre le dernier hôtel et chez vous.

Lot Explore travaille en partenariat avec Quercy Découverte IMO 46 10 00 02

©2020 par Lot Explore. Créé avec Wix.com